We have an amazing event planned but we still need some help. Please see our crowdfunding campaign and consider a small donation. There may even be a reward in it for you. We only have $800 left to raise, it's not much but it'll go a long way.

Close this message


Our Host, Dr Jamie Chapman

Dr Chapman undertook a Bachelor of Science at the University of Adelaide, majoring in Anatomy and Histology. He achieved first class Honours in reproductive biology of marsupials and completed a PhD in 2003 in Medicine focussing on marsupial cellular reproductive biology. He is a Lecturer in Human Anatomy in the University of Tasmania’s School of Medicine. Primarily teaching microscopic anatomy (histology), Dr Chapman is now coordinator of histology teaching in the Medical programme and the two first year Human Biology units. He uses innovative techniques in teaching which has seen him earn local Vice Chancellor and national Office of Learning and Teaching Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning. He is also the only Apple Distinguished Educator at the University of Tasmania. Dr Chapman has performed research on the innate immune system of the olfactory region, supervising two Honours students, but more recently his research has focussed on educational research, particularly technology-enhanced learning and teaching. He is passionate about science communication and has been involved with public science events including demonstrating anatomical body painting at regular UTAS Open Days, Science Worth Seeing and is a regular contributor to the Science Club panel on ABC Hobart local radio. He is co-organiser of the upcoming public science event “Pint of Science” to be held in Hobart on May 16

Professor Brigid Heywood

Professor Brigid Heywood is the Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research) at the University of Tasmania, responsible for the University’s research and innovation strategy, its research institutes, students and infrastructure, and commercialisation services.  Prior to this appointment, Professor Heywood served as Assistant Vice-Chancellor of Research, Academic and Enterprise from 2011-2015 at Massey University in New Zealand. During her time there, she led the development and implementation of the strategies, policies and standards that underpin that university's research and teaching effort. Prior to her post in New Zealand, Professor Heywood held the office of Pro Vice-Chancellor for Research and Enterprise at England's Open University, the largest in the United Kingdom.

Jessica Munday

Jessica Munday is the Secretary of Unions Tasmania which is the peak body for unions in this state, representing approximately 50,000 members across private and public sector. Recently elected to lead Unions Tasmania, Jessica previously spent 11 years working for the community and the Public Sector Union. While the Secretary of the CPSU, Jessica spent time advocating for science and science jobs in the Australian Antarctic Division and the CSIRO.

Dr. Damien Irving

Damien is a Postdoctoral Fellow in Climate Science. In his spare time, Damien volunteers as the Convenor of the Denison Branch of the Tasmanian Greens and is passionate about the role scientists can play in politics.

Dr. Mel Fitzpatrick

Mel Fitzpatrick is a climate scientist and educator. Much of her work over the last two decades has concentrated on effective communication of climate science to both policymakers and the general public. A specialist in polar and alpine research, Dr. Fitzpatrick has worked for the Australian Antarctic Program, the US Antarctic Program, and in the Department of Earth and Space Sciences at the University of Washington in Seattle. She also worked for six years as a climate scientist with the Union of Concerned Scientists, a U.S. non-profit that plays a key role in ensuring sound science informs policy. Mel has recently returned to Tasmania and continues to be passionate about bridging science and policy. She is part of the non-profit group Climate Tasmania.

Rosemary Anderson

Rose Anderson is the President of the Science Teachers Association of Tasmania (STAT). She currently works as a STEM Senior Project Officer with the Tasmanian Department of Education’s Curriculum Services. She is part of a team that is leading the new STEM Framework by supporting and leading professional learning to Amplify STEM schools and teachers as well as developing STEM resources for use in Tasmanian schools. Prior to this role, Rose taught at New Norfolk High School. She is an enthusiastic Science educator who has been teaching for nearly 20 years in Tasmania and overseas. Her main passion is in instilling interest and engagement in STEM courses in our youth. She has shared her experience and knowledge with the education community at many local, national and international conferences and events. Rose has won various scholarships in teaching and learning Science.

Professor Jamie Kirkpatrick

Jamie Kirkpatrick is Distinguished Professor in Geography and Environmental Studies in the School of Land and Food where he teaches undergraduates, supervises research students, co-ordinates the Bachelor of Natural Environment and Wilderness Studies and undertakes research in physical, social and cultural geography relevant to nature conservation, or which amuses him. He has published 290 refereed papers/book chapters and about 40 books/reports. His two most recent books are The Tasmanian Development Calendar (2016) and Conservation Worrier (2017).

March information

Hobart Parliament Lawns
1-3 pm

View FAQ

Apply to become a volunteer

Fill out our Google form and lets us know how you can help.


Spread the word

Use the power of social media to educate other humans about science and how it directly affects everyone.